Some People Are Worth Melting For

This past week, a group of us went to the Middlesboro Mall to go watch the new Disney film Frozen since I, always being oblivious to new movie releases, had yet to see it. I had heard wonderful reviews about it, so I was curious to see what the hype was about.

Olaf the Snowman

Olaf the Snowman

Plus, getting away from homework and studying for a few hours seemed like a pretty good plan to me!

After the movie was over, I had no regrets seeing it. In fact, I’d love to go see it again!

[Warning: Potential small Frozen plot spoilers]

My favorite character was definitely Olaf, the snowman that Elsa, one of the main characters in the film, created in her childhood. He comes to life during the course of the film and helps Anna, Elsa’s younger sister, find Elsa to offset the eternal winter she  created in the midst of an argument. Olaf creates a lot of humor that viewers can’t help but find funny. Despite lacking a real one, Olaf has one of the biggest hearts of any Disney character I’ve seen. At some point near the end of the movie when he is in the middle of helping Anna, Olaf stands too close to a fire and begins to melt. He is so focused on helping Anna that he did not realize what was happening. After Anna points out he is melting, Olaf responds with, “Some people are worth melting for.”

At first, I thought his statement was a little cliche, but the more I thought about that little snowman, I began to realize how right he was. The friends I’ve met on this campus, some of whom were with me in the theater when I first heard Olaf speak those wise words, have proven to me that there really are people worth melting for.

For most of my life I had been notorious for being shy. Talking with people my own age wasn’t really ever my thing and I spent most my time inside my head or living inside of books. I had friends and people I talked to frequently at school, of course, but I never got the feeling that I clicked  incredibly well. I felt like a puzzle piece that fit in the puzzle if it were pressed hard into it. It wasn’t ever really effortless like putting a puzzle piece in should be.

I could not ask for better people to have in my life right now. They love me on my best days and keep it real with me on my bad

ones. They allow me to be myself without giving me any fear of rejection and a lot of them

image (2)

Here is Alex and I at the Honors Program Halloween party back in October.

share my own interests. If I want to have

a Star Trek marathon or cry over the new season of Sherlock, I know that I can call on Alex to join in. A few of the upperclassmen have even become like older siblings to me, like Julie, Mallory, and Kim. I know that I can go to them with any questions I may have or if I just need someone to rant to. Whenever a trip to Middlesboro is needed, any of my friends who come along put up with my incessant need to plug in an iPod to the stereo and belt out Elton John, Queen, or any other band that comes to mind. Isaac, a fellow freshman English major, is normally the driver on such occasions and gives me control of the music selection without (much) complaint. Isaac is also, along with David, are always there to make me laugh, especially when I need it most. They’ve become the brothers I’ve never had. My wonderful suite mates, Merry and Melissa , help me out when I start to feel overwhelmed about school and I don’t think I could ever thank them enough.

image (1)With them, I’ve had the time of my life, so far. I’ve done so many things that I would probably otherwise not have done:

  • We built a blanket fort
  • climbed up the DCOM (DeBusck College of Osteopathic Medicine) hill during the infamous “Snowmageddon” that happened at the start of this semester.
  • I went rollerskating for the first time!
  • Consequently realized that I am terrible at rollerskating.
  • I saw my first live play, Daddy’s Dyin’… Who’s Got the Will?, a student-performed production involving a variety of students
  • Took a road trip to Knoxville and somehow did not get lost.

    image

    Here is our blanket fort we made in the middle of our suite. It was tight with seven of us trying to squeeze under it!

I can’t wait to add more to my list. I can’t thank the friends I’ve made here enough; they helped me find my niche and break out of my shell. Our puzzle might look a little weird sometimes, but we all fit together nicely. Our journey at LMU seems to have only just begun, but I know one thing for sure: I’m no snowman, but I’d melt for them any day.

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to email me or leave a comment on my blog!

3 thoughts on “Some People Are Worth Melting For

  1. You can most definitely come to me with anything you have on your mind 🙂 I’m so glad you’re in the Honors Program and that I’ve gotten to know you this year!

  2. Pingback: Let It Go! | Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Leave a Reply

