Happy Halloween!

dracula

Halloween makes some people happier than Dracula at a blood drive!

I have never been one to celebrate Halloween. The most I have ever participated with the holiday has included watching horror movies into the night and having to sleep with the light on for longer than I care to admit. However, college is the perfect time for someone like me to change their ways. At LMU there are a variety of events in which students can celebrate the holiday, everything from horror movies showing at the Student Center to a haunted forest put on by the Gamma Lambda Sigma Fraternity. For those who wish to help others and don’t mind needles, there was even the option of donating blood today.

With all of these events going on, even someone like me who has neglected to take part in this wonderful holiday suddenly has next-to-no choice in the matter. Once it was decided that the Honors Program was going to be putting on a Halloween party, I finally decided that it was time for me to become festive.

In order to promote ourselves more, the students in the Honors Program decided to throw a Halloween Party in the Mary Mars gym on Monday, October 28th. Everyone was incredibly excited to put on this event! People went all out baking, putting decorations together, planning games, and preparing costumes. With everyone else getting so into the party, I couldn’t help but want to join them. The only thing I needed was a costume, and that’s where all of the fun began.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I love Star Trek and zombies. I will never get tired of watching Zombieland multiple times a day (my current personal record: five) and the opening theme to Star Trek: The Original Series will never cease to give me goosebumps. With both of my passions looming over me, I had to decide between going as Spock or going as a zombie.  I never had to decide what I was going to wear for Halloween before and I have only just recently found out how difficult it is to choose among dozens of amazing things to be! At the end of a long deliberation process, I decided to incorporate both into one costume: zombie Spock! While it sounds a little difficult to put together, the entire process wasn’t tedious and required few supplies.

ZombieSpock

My friend Alex is the Captain Kirk to my Spock.

During one of the many trips I took with my friends to the Walmart in Middlesboro, Kentucky, the town down the road from LMU, I picked up jet-black temporary spray-on hair dye as my first preparation for this costume. I wanted something that was easy to put on and wouldn’t cause too much of a mess, so I decided that this would be the best thing for me to do. Finding a Spock wig is more difficult than I could have imagined, so dyeing it was the next best thing! With my hair being considerably light, I had to use almost the entire can to get the desired effect, but it worked perfectly!

I also put a gaping wound and fake blood on my neck to start off the zombie effect. This was definitely the messiest part! I am well known for my clumsiness, and I certainly did not disappoint when getting ready for this party. I had to warn my roommate ahead of time so that she wouldn’t be too concerned about any leftover blood I forgot to clean up!

At the party, everyone played games, which included “fear pong” (water was used!) and a relay race, listened to music from “The Nightmare Before Christmas” and other classic Halloween movies, and enjoyed each others company. Everyone ate way too many cupcakes, but no one really minded.

ZombieLand

Like  Survival Rule #32 of Zombieland says, “Enjoy the little things.”

After a night of games, music, and consuming more sugar than is possibly healthy, it was time to finally return to my dorm and begin to take the layers of liquid latex, makeup, and hair dye out. Despite all the rinsing and scouring I did, I was still cleaning up the liquid latex that held my Spock ears on the next day.

In college it can be hard to go out, have fun, and take a break from schoolwork, but it is absolutely imperative that students do so. It can be easy to get caught up in the stress that college brings, so having an outlet in which you can enjoy yourself is absolutely necessary. College is the perfect time to do things you have never done before. Like Survival Rule #32 of Zombieland says, “Enjoy the little things.”

So, go out and have fun any chance you can around Halloween. After all, it is the only time that it is acceptable to ask people around you, “Does my wound look okay?”

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to email me or leave a comment on my blog!

Leave a Reply

